Bump Maps in GiMP

For my first video post on Elmer’s Sandbox, a video tutorial on creating bump maps in GiMP. Bump maps are a great way to give texture and dimension to your graphics and photos. This 9 minute video only scratches the surface of what bump maps can do. Perhaps I will revisit bump maps at another time, and show you how to create your own graffiti.

Throughout the video I say “image” but I should have said “layer”. Although you can use a different image as a bump map, in this tutorial I only use layers.

Bump Maps with GiMP from Elmer Perry on Vimeo.

Link to GiMP.Org page on Bump Map filter

Tell me in the comments how you liked this little video and about any ideas for video tutorials you would like to see in the future.

Leave a Reply

